Two new Elton John tribute LPs arrive this week

Please share:

Two new Elton John tribute LPs arrive this week: “Revamp” featuring pop and rock-oriented artists & “Restoration” composed of country-style covers

This week Elton John is being honored with not one, but two new tribute albums. One is called “Revamp” and finds pop and rock-oriented artists tackling the piano legend; the other, titled Restoration, consists of country-style covers. Both are streaming below via Apple Music and Spotify. Elton himself curated all of Revamp, which features Mumford and Sons, Florence and the Machine, Coldplay, Q Tip with Demi Lovato, The Killers, and Queens of the Stone Age. There are also contributions from Mary J. Blige, Ed Sheeran, Lady Gaga,  Pink and Logic, Sam Smith,  and Alessia Cara.

The other album dubbed “Restoration,” which consists mainly of country artists was curated by The Rocket Man’s longtime writing partner Bernie Taupin. Contributors include Miley Cyrus, Dolly Parton, Willie Nelson, Kacey Musgraves, Emmylou Harris and Roseanne Cash,  Chris Stapleton, Dierks Bentley and Lee Ann Womack, among others.

“It’s always a huge compliment when an artist loves your song enough to take the time and effort to rework it,” John said in a press release. “As songwriters, Bernie and myself are thrilled when singers we admire and respect as much as those on Revamp and Restoration choose to add their own unique twist in the process. It means that our music is still relevant and ultimately that our songs continue to reach new audiences. We’re humbled and thank them all for their generosity.”

Both records come ahead of John’s lengthy 300 stop farewell tour.”Farewell Yellow Brick Road” will run until 2021 and include stops in nearly every continent. In addition to the releases, a tribute concert dubbed Elton John: I’m Still Standing A Grammy Salute is set to air April 10th at 9:00-11:00 ET/PT on CBS. Many of the album’s guests — including Cyrus, Lady Gaga, Lambert, Coldplay’s Chris Martin, and Cara — will also be part of the live performance. John Legend, Kesha, Shawn Mendes, and SZA are also expected to make appearances.

Apple Music “Revamp”

Spotify “Revamp”

Apple Music “Restoration”

Spotify “Restoration”

Revamp Tracklist:

01. Bennie and The Jets — Elton John, P!nk, Logic
02. We All Fall In Love Sometimes — Coldplay
03. I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues — Alessia Cara
04. Candle In The Wind — Ed Sheeran
05. Tiny Dancer — Florence And The Machine
06. Someone Saved My Life Tonight — Mumford and Sons
07. Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word — Mary J. Blige
08. Don’t Go Breaking My Heart — Q Tip feat. Demi Lovato
09. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters — The Killers
10. Daniel — Sam Smith
11. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me — Miley Cyrus
12. Your Song — Lady Gaga
13. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road — Queens of the Stone Age

Restoration Tracklist:

01. Rocket Man – Little Big Town
02. Mona Lisas And Mad Hatters – Maren Morris
03. Sacrifice – Don Henley and Vince Gill
04. Take Me To The Pilot – Brothers Osborne
05. My Father’s Gun – Miranda Lambert
06. I Want Love – Chris Stapleton
07. Honky Cat – Lee Ann Womack
08. Roy Rogers – Kacey Musgraves
09. Please – Rhonda Vincent and Dolly Parton
10. The Bitch Is Back – Miley Cyrus
11. Sad Songs (Say So Much) – Dierks Bentley
12. This Train Don’t Stop – Rosanne Cash and Emmylou Harris
13. Border Song – Willie Nelson

Leave Your Comment